S.J. Suites Hotel

Content for id "mapCovering" Goes Here
Points of Interest

There are many places to see around the Old San Juan area so put some comfortable clothe on an explore!

Castillo San Felipe del Morro

El morro CastleEl Morro is Puerto Rico's best known fortress. Spanish troops fortified this 'morro'. which means 'promontory', to keep seaborne enemies out of San Juan. Today this dramatic castle welcomes multitudes of arriving cruise ships and aircraft to the busiest port in the Caribbean. Over two million visitors a year explore theme windswept ramparts and page ways, where the history of 400 years of Spain in Puerto Rico comes alive.

 

El Fuerte de San Cristobal

The largest fortification ever built by the Spanish in the New World. Declared a World Heritage site in 1983, this massive fortification which covers 27 acres contains an unsuspected treasure which we invite you to explore as you learn about its fascinating history.

 

Cuartel de Ballajá - Ballajá Barracks

Cuartel de BallajáThe Cuartel de Ballajá, or "Ballajá Barracks," housed Spanish troops during the 1800s, and later was the quarters for American soldiers following the Spanish-American War.  The building was used as a military hospital during World War II.  Now, the second floor of barracks has been devoted to the Museo de Las Americas, which has three permanent collections: the African Heritage, the Indian in America, and Popular Arts in America.

 

City Walls

Citty WallsIn 1634-38 a line of massive walls rose up to defend the low southern coast of Old San Juan which faces the harbor. On the north side of the city, a margin of rocky cliffs was deemed defense enough until the mid-18th century, when more walls and bastions were added facing the sea. Five gates pierced the massive walls of the completely fortified city.

 

San Juán Gate

San Juan Gate, next to the governors' palace at  La Fortaleza, was for a long time the main entrance to Old San Juan. Through this gate official ceremonies welcomed new governors and bishops as they landed to take their new positions.

 

Plazoleta de la La Rogativa

La rrogativaThe legend goes that on the night of April 30. 1797, when British troops were besieging San Juan, Puerto Rico, the townswomen formed a Rogativa, or Prayer Procession, to march through the streets with their Bishop praying for the deliverance of the City. Outside the walls, the invaders mistook the torch lit movement for the arrival of Spanish reinforcements; when morning came, they were gone from the island.

 

 

 

 

 

Piegeon Park - Parque de las palomas

Pigeon ParkLocated at the top of the city wall, this park overlooks the restored La Princesa Jail, now a government office with an attractive art gallery. The park is the perfect spot from which to enjoy a magnificent view of the harbor, city and mountains. Be carefull with the kamikaze Piegeons!

 

 

Del Cristo Chappel - Capilla del Cristo

Del Cristo ChappelBuilt in the 18th century (1753). The stories surrounding the history of this small chapel conflict wildly except on one point: someone on horseback took a terrible spill off the cliffs at the end of Calle Cristo. Whether he lived, and the chapel was built to commemorate the miracle, or whether he died, and the chapel was to block off the street and prevent such an accident from happening again, is the part of the story that is in dispute. The beautiful Campeche paintings and altar inside can be seen through the church's glass doors.

 

Paseo La Princesa (Promenade of the princes)

Paseo la PrincesaIs an elegantly landscaped walkway with trees, statues, benches, street lamps and kiosks. The promenade faces the bay.

 

 

 

 

Plaza de Armas (Arms Square)

Plaza de ArmasIs Old San Juan's main square, on San José Street. Features four statues representing the four seasons; all are over 100 years old. It was carefully planned as the main city square and has served as a social meeting place for generations.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Plaza Colón (Colombus Square)

Plaza colonPaza colón was originally called St. James Square was renamed in 1893 to honor Christopher Columbus on the 400th anniversary of his discovery of Puerto Rico; bronze tablets at the pedestal of the Columbus statue record important episodes in the explorer's life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Plaza del Quinto Centenario

This plaza, built in 1992 for the commemorate the Fifth Centenary of the discovery of America, extends from the San Jose Church and the rebuilt Ballajá Barracks . The 'Tótem Telúrico', an impressive, contemporary sculpture made by the local artist Jaime Suárez graces its center. The Plaza provides an excellent view of the El Morro grounds, the old San Juan cemetery, and the Atlantic Ocean. Teenagers can be found at the plaza, on weekends, skating and having fun; while, tourists like it as a place to relax, away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

 

El Capitolio - Capitol Building

Puerto Rico Capitol BuildingEl Capitolio, started construction in 1602, completed in 1789. In the 1840's the building was heavily remodeled providing its present day facade intended by its builders to be an exact replica of Madrid's. The building has a tourism information center and a small gallery for periodic exhibitions. Free admissions. Open Mon-Fri 8am - 4pm, except holidays. The building is home to the bicameral Legislative Assembly, composed of the House of Representatives and Senate. The building is located in the Puerta de Tierra sector of San Juan. The Capitol is also commonly referred to as the Palace of Laws (Spanish: Palacio de las Leyes).

Back to top

©2012 S.J. Suites Hotel. All Rights Reserved.